Home > hardware > Time to upgrade desktop

Time to upgrade desktop

1.5 months ago I moved from a tiny Beacon Hill apartment to a larger apartment in the West End in Boston. The move was very smooth. One thing didn’t survive the move – my desktop computer that I assembled back in 2002. It had Win2000 installed. It just starts and after a couple of minutes shows the blue screen of death. I still hope to recover a lot of good stuff stored there like pictures, documents, etc. that were not backed up on CDs or DVDs. But I figured this is the time to upgrade.

About three months ago on the Wall Street Journal web site I saw an ad from Digital Tigers with nice multi-screen monitors. I have Viewsonic VA800 which was serving me pretty well until it became too small for work I do. Yes, IDEs try to take as much real estate as they can. That ad was sitting in my mind. And the trouble with my desktop hit me – it is time to upgrade the monitor as well.

2 weeks ago I ordered a workstation and a monitor. I should receive them this week.

Categories: hardware
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

