Home > hardware > TV Upgrade

TV Upgrade

After long waiting time I got my 52″ Sony XBR9 TV delivered past Saturday. It’s hard to call it a TV since the line between TVs and other devices is getting blurry and Sony XBR9 exemplifies this transition. Unlike it’s predecessors, this TV has a built-in network jack opening a whole new world of possibilities. For example, while connected to the Internet you can upgrade its firmware. That is, your TV functions are no longer hardcoded. You may get new feature without buying a new TV. The Internet connection allows to watch content from a whole bunch of sources (YouTube, CBS, Amazon on demand, …). Netflix is coming in fall 2009. It offers some Yahoo widgets (like you can check the stock market or see a 5-day forecast). Twitter also provides a widget so you could read tweets on TV while watching other things (although I’m not a big fan of this). In general, I got a very good impression. The only thing disappointed me is absence of PIP in a way I was expected it. But may be I’ll figure out how can I get it working later.

With getting more devices connected to the network (the Blu-ray player is another one), now I need to look how to expand my home network.

Categories: hardware
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

