Home > news, open-source, software > John Zimmerman, originator of JAI, dies at the age of 58

John Zimmerman, originator of JAI, dies at the age of 58

I have learned a sad news. John Zimmerman, who conceived and led the Java Advanced Imaging (JAI), died last Wednesday, February 9th at the age of 58 from kidney cancer. John left Sun Microsystems in 2004. At the time of John’s tenure at Sun Microsystems, the JAI support group was the best group at Sun that cared a lot about its users responding quickly and clearly to all questions. JAI, a well designed and very powerful Java library for image processing, is a trace John left behind. JAI was/is used in many industries from space to drug research. John will be largely missed.

  1. Anne Zimmerman
    April 4, 2011 at 15:03

    Sometimes I have a memory pass through my mind and the pain tears my soul apart. My throat tightens and tears fill my eyes. I miss my brother so very much. I have lost a piece of myself that cannot be replaced.

    • April 4, 2011 at 21:10

      You should be proud of your brother. He made a very positve impact on this world. I really hope time will heal your grief.

  2. Rosalie J. Hagge, MS, MD
    December 8, 2011 at 02:07

    The loss of this great man is so profound, I have not the words to express. JAI was his brainchild. Even with minimal support from the parent company, the software library is so tightly written that it still remains an industry standard. This one man’s vision powers so many vital functions, from medical imaging to interplanetary exploration, and beyond. Paradoxically, he was so humble, and so self-effacing, that he never sought credit for any of these amazing accomplishments. I remember him as teacher, friend, colleague, and life partner. His untimely loss is deeply felt by all of us who knew and worked with him, and especially by me, his wife. — Rosalie Hagge, MS, MD Associate Clinical Professor of Radiology, UC Davis Medical Center, Sacramento, CA

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

